Show search form

Paracanoe and Canoe Sprint Team Announcement - International Panel Statement

Following the disrupted selection regatta that took place at Holme Pierrepont over the Queen’s Jubilee weekend, the International Panel has provided the following statement to update on Sprint and Paracanoe GBR senior team selection. 

Henshaw 1684

The International Panel has today confirmed the Paracanoe team that will head to the 2022 World Championships taking place in Halifax, Canada this August before travelling to the European Championships, which is being held in Munich as part of a multi-sport event just two weeks later.

Paralympic and World Champion Charlotte Henshaw MBE leads the way in the women’s KL2 and VL3. 

Having won her maiden Paralympic gold in Tokyo, Charlotte backed up her Games debut in the sport by claiming KL2 and VL3 World Championship titles in Copenhagen just two weeks later, the latter event having been recently added to Paris 2024 Paralympic Games schedule.

Three-time Paralympic medallist Emma Wiggs MBE will line-up once again in both the women’s VL2 and KL2 events, the events in which she won the gold and silver medals in Tokyo and 2021 World Championships in Copenhagen respectively. 

Laura Sugar MBE too will look to defend her World Championship title as she prepares to take on her third international season racing the women’s KL3. Laura burst onto the season back in 2019 and has since claimed Paralympic gold.

Joining Laura in the women’s KL3 will be Hope Gordon. Having claimed two silver medals at the 2021 World Championships, Hope then went on to compete at the Beijing Winter Paralympic Games in para nordic skiing. She’s now back in the boat and will double up as she too joins Charlotte in the women’s VL3 event.

Tokyo 2020 bronze medallist Rob Oliver will look to build on his 2021 World Championship silver medal as he takes on the men’s KL3 event later this summer. He will be joined by Jonny Young who claimed a top ten finish in Copenhagen last year.

Two-time Paralympic paracanoe medallist Jeanette Chippington OBE comes into the season off the back of winning VL2 bronze at the Tokyo Games. Jeanette, who has 29 international medals to her name, will be competing in the VL2 and KL1 this August.

2021 World Champion Jack Eyers will have the opportunity to defend his men’s VL3 title in Halifax as he prepares to take on the event once again. He will be joined by two-time bronze medallist Martin Tweedie, who rejoins the team for the 2022 season having last competed internationally in 2019.

Dave Phillipson will race the men’s KL2 off the back of his debut Games in paracanoe. Dave finished seventh last summer in a tightly contested Paralympic final before taking fifth place in the World Championships just weeks later.  

In the men’s VL2, Ed Clifton & Stewart Clark will be given three opportunities to confirm their place within the team. Following the suspension of the selection events over the weekend due to adverse weather conditions, Ed and Stewart will race on one single day to demonstrate the minimum performance standard required. 

Canoe Sprint World & European Championship Team Announcement

The International Panel received a significant number of requests for exceptional circumstances in line with section 16 of the published policy. As a result the IP has considered each request and is now communicating its decisions.

In order to comply with the process laid out in the policy (in particular section 12.1 of the policy), only now that the outcome of the exceptional circumstances requests has been determined can the conversations take place with athletes.

The IP therefore regret that as a result, the announcement of the Canoe Sprint Senior World & European Championship teams will be delayed until Friday 10th June at 5pm in order to ensure that the published process is followed.

The IP wishes to thank all the volunteers who helped stage the event and acknowledge the challenging conditions at times experienced by the competitors and officials.