Show search form

Titles claimed at Marathon National Championships

Over 50 titles were claimed at the British Open National Marathon Racing Individual and Team Championships, taking place at Reading Canoe Club over weekend.

As well as national titles and medals, the senior, under 23 and under 18 races also provided an opportunity for paddlers to seek selection for the Marathon World Championships taking place in Romania later this year.

Fresh from their success at last week’s Sprint National Championships, Dan Johnson (Chelmsford) and Lizzie Broughton (Richmond) claimed the gold medals in the senior K1 events.

Dan Johnson completed the 26km course first in 1 hour: 50:27 to secure the Senior Men K1 national title, just ahead of Chelmsford team-mate James Russell, with Albert Hicks (Norwich) taking third place.

2019 World bronze medallist Lizzie Broughton secured another national in the Senior Women K1, with Sam Rees- Clark (Basingstoke Canal) taking second place, with Fay Lamph (Wey) in third.

In the Under 23 Men K1 Charlie Smith (Leighton Buzzard) continued his good form this season to claim victory ahead of Alex McIntyre (Chelmsford) and Luke Shaw (Norwich).

Smith joined up with James Russell to take the Senior Men K2 in a tight contest with Dan and Matt Johnson (Chelmsford) taking second place, with William Stroud (Chelmsford) and Peter Wilkes (Fowey) third.

Anoushka Freeman (Richmond) took the spoils in the Under 23 Women K1 in another tight finish, with Rebekah Solway (Elmbridge) in second with Katie Brookes (Worcester) in third.

Jane Swarbreck partnered with Freeman in the Senior Women K2 and the Richmond crew took a comfortable victory, with Samantha Martyn and Sophie Thompson (Wey) second and Maggie Dilai/Lucy Guest (Nottingham) third.

In the final race of the weekend, over sixty crews were on the start line for the Mixed K2. 

An incredible sprint finish between three boats saw Charlie Smith take his third title of the weekend, with Sam Rees-Clark (Basingstoke Canal), finishing just a second ahead of Maggie Dilai (Nottingham) and James Russell (Chelmsford), with Richmond duo Tom Sharpe and Jane Swarbreck a close third.

Isla Bethune took a commanding victory by over a minute in the Under 18 Women K1, ahead of Grace Anderson (Norwich) in second and Klara Jepson (Falcon) third.

In the Under 18 Women K2 Emma and Kerry Christie (Break Out) recorded a comfortable victory ahead of Sienna Payne (Chelmsford) and Hannah Gallagher (Wey) in second and Norwich duo Tabitha Yull and Charlotte Le-May in third.

Zac Tarver and Luca Ferri made it an Elmbridge 1-2 in the Under 18 Men K1, with Ben Cabrera (Fowey) third.

In the Under 18 Men K2 Tarver claimed with second title of the weekend with Xavier Hinves (Southampton), ahead of Fowey pair Ben Cabrera and Joseph Railton, with Dominic Stanley (Falcon) and Luca Ferri (Elmbridge) third.

In the Senior C1 race, Arthur Leech (Nottingham) and Beth Gill (Chelmsford) took commanding victories in the men’s and women’s events.

George Bell (Fladbury) won the Under 18 Men C1 race, with Richmond duo Owen Chisholm and Areg Sarkisyan third.

Royal duo Joe Mitchell and Mike Phillip won the men’s C2 race, Liz Murnaghan (Taunton) and Vicky Metcalfe (Pangbourne) were first across the line in the women’s C2, with Owen Chisholm and Areg Sarkisyan (Richmond) taking the juniors title.

The Under 16 and under 14 paddlers were also hoping to impress the selectors for inclusion in the GB development team.

Gabriel Popham (Falcon) took the victory in the Under 16 Boys K1 in a tight race ahead of Harry Freeland (Reading), with Arthur Morley (Wey) in third.

Popham and Freeland joined forces for the Under 16 Boys K2 take the national title ahead of the Nottingham paiirng of Huw Singleton and Joe Enoch (Nottingham), with Haydyn Cooke-Bayley (Nottingham) and Dylan O’Connor (Richmond) third.

The Under 16 Girls K1 saw another close finish with Mollie Ball (Devizes) winning the gold medal, just ahead of Annabel Hutchinson (Reading) in second and Nerys Hall (Wey) third.

Nerys Hall combined with Wey team mate Greta Roeser to win the Under 16 Girls K2 with an impressive victory ahead of the Southampton crew Poppy Gilbert-Johns and Beth Perry.

James Ross (Elmbridge) took victory in the Under 14 Boys K1, with Toby Bullock (Exeter) second and Rory Strachan (Glasgow) third.

Ross partnered with Elmbridge team mate William Short to also claim Under 14 Boys K2.

Kamila Sklenarova (Norwich) won the national title Under 14 Girls K1, with Glasgow duo Hannah Toovey and Zoe Herriot second and third.

Herriot and Toovey combined to take an impressive victory in the Under 14 Girls K2, with Sklenarova and Norwich team mate Estelle Widdows in second.

There was some great racing in the under 12, under 10 and mini events, with victories going to;

Under 12 Boys K1 Lucas Clifford (Wey)

Under 12 Girls K1 Daisie Ball (Devizes)

Under 12 Girls K2 Eloise Lamb (Southampton) and Daisie Ball (Devizes)

Under 10 Boys K1 Knoah Ayran (Falcon)

Under 10 Boys K2 Joshua Drummond (Reading) and Jack Toovey (Glasgow)

Under 10 Girls K1 Ruth Sheppard (Reading)

Mini K1 Eloise Lamb (Southampton)

Mini K2 Fahren Adams and Connie O’Hare (Devizes)


The K1 and K2 masters events ranged from the over 34’s up to over 69’s – with Brian Greenham (Reading) winning the over 69 Men K1 ahead of Robin Avery (Banbury).

Keith Moule (Chelmsford) claimed the over 39 Men K1 title and went on to win a second title in the over 34 Men K2 with Brett Irvine (Richmond).

There was also double success for Alison Chmiel (Nottingham), who won the over 54 women’s K1 and K2, the latter with team mate Caroline Jones.

After winning sprint and wildwater racing events earlier in the season, Neil Blackman (Royal Leamington Spa) added the marathon over 54 Men K1 title, and finished in second place in the K2 with brother Howard Blackman (Burton Phoenix).

The full list of Masters national champions

O34 Men K1 Ben Farrell (Independent)  O34 Women K1 Suzanne De Brujin (Norwich)

O39 Men K1 Keith Moule (Chelmsford)  O39 Women K1 Joanne Bates (Falcon)

O44 Men K1 Matthew Enoch (Nottingham)  O44 Women K1 Cathy Howell (Nottingham)

O49 Men K1 Steve Baker (Richmond)  O49 Women K1 Sharon Colley (Hereford)

O54 Men K1 Neil Blackman (Royal Leamington Spa)  O54 Women K1 Alison Chmiel (Nottingham)

O59 Men K1 Stan Missen (Bradford on Avon)  O59 Women K1 Mocha Pilkington (Poole)

O64 Men K1 William Jaggs (Poole)  O64 Women K1 Debbie Carpenter (Basingstoke Canal)

O69 Men K1 Brian Greenham (Reading)


O34 Men K2 Keith Moule (Chelmsford) and Brett Irvine (Richmond).

O34 Women K2 Faye Whitear and Robyn Von Maltzahn (Richmond)

O44 Men K2 Stuart Dunn (Independent) and James Smythe (Bishops Stortford)

O44 Women K2 Tanya Herwanger and Hilary Wells (Richmond)

O54 Men K2 Simon Davies and Mike Hawthorn (Worcester)

O54 Women K2 Caroline Jones and Alison Chmiel (Nottingham)

O64 Men K2 Peter Mietus and Norman Mason (Nottingham)

Nottingham Kayak Club won the overall team event, with hosts Reading second and Wey third.

Richmond won the women’s team trophy, and the Spanish Galleon trophy was claimed by Reading.

All the results from the weekend can be found on the Reading Canoe Club website.