Show search form

GB U23 & Junior canoe slalom team announced after strong selection weekend

British Canoeing is pleased to announce the Junior and U23 slalom paddlers who have been selected to represent Great Britain for the 2021 international season.

Setchell 085

Britain’s best U23 and Junior canoe slalom athletes descended on the white water course at Holme Pierrepont in Nottingham over the weekend as they all competed to secure their place on the teams for the upcoming season. 

Racing across two days, athletes were required to put down four runs with their best three deliveries counting towards final selection.

Peter Linksted topped the men’s U23 C1 category, after three run victories out of four made it an extremely successful weekend for the Stirling & Falkirk paddler. He will be joined by Kurts Adams-Rozentals, who was on the junior team for 2019, and CR Cats’ Vittorio Pezzaioli.

Speaking after the first day of competition, Peter was pleased to be back racing:

Nikita Setchell heads up the women’s U23 K1 trio after claiming two run victories in race 1 and 4. Nikita became Junior European Champion in 2018 and had a strong season in 2019 during her first year in the U23s. Phoebe Spicer and Lois Leaver complete the line-up for the women’s K1.

Being on the senior team for a number of years, Chris Bowers qualified his K1 men’s U23 spot for another season with two first place finishes and two second place finishes. The Stafford and Stone paddler will be joined by two members of the junior squad from 2019 in Jonny Dickson and Ben Haylett. Both paddlers finished in the top 10 at the World Championships in 2019 and feature in the U23s for the first time.

Ben Haylett reflected on a positive time back racing in Nottingham.

Another member of the recent senior team who competed at the European Championships, Sophie Ogilvie leads the way in the women’s C1 U23 team after three victories from four over the weekend. Beth Forrow who won bronze at the 2019 junior European Championships and Ellis Miller complete the squad.

In the junior sides, Macy Kang, Louise Fernie and Rachel Ellis will take their places in the women’s K1, with Macy winning three of the four runs to take maximum points.

Luc Royle will be joined by Edward McDonald and Gabriel Keen to take on the Junior European Championships later this season.

Thomas Mayer, Sam Leaver and Cody Brown make up the men’s K1 team, with Thomas and Sam taking two wins each over the weekend.

Rachel Ellis and Louise Fernie will also take on the women’s C1 and be joined by Joanna Blythe-Shields after claiming a first and two second places.

For the full IP Statement click here