Show search form

World Class Performance Squads announced for 2020 season

British Canoeing has selected 54 athletes for the UK Sport Lottery Funded World Class Programme (WCP) in Canoe Sprint, Canoe Slalom and Paracanoe as we build towards Tokyo 2020 and beyond.

Squad Announcement Picture

A rigorous selection process has been conducted, analysing athletes’ past and current performances and an assessment against their potential to win medals in Tokyo and future Olympic and Paralympic Games.

Athletes who have been selected onto the programme for 2020 are split across Podium and Podium Potential tiers and will receive financial assistance from UK Sport’s Athlete Performance Award (APA) alongside support for training camps and international competitions in the 2020 season. They will also have access to world-class coaching, performance support, medical services and elite training environments at our High Performance Centres.

Paul Ratcliffe, Performance Director for British Canoeing, said: “We have selected a strong squad of athletes with a great mix of youth and experience. Our junior athletes have had a strong year and a number of those who produced impressive performances at the Junior European and World Championships have been rewarded with a place on the WCP. Our senior athletes are looking to improve further on the back of the Senior World Championships and are now full gas with their winter preparations as we focus in on achieving our ambitions at the Tokyo Games.

“Outside of the Olympic and Paralympics, there are some fantastic racing opportunities for our senior athletes, with a home European Canoe Slalom Championships in Lee Valley and then the Paracanoe World Championships in May.

“There is lots of racing opportunities at the ICF World Cup series for both Canoe Sprint and Canoe Slalom and a full quota of races for our U23 and junior athletes.

“British Canoeing is privileged to receive lottery funding to be able to support our athletes. We look forward to maximising this support to help develop all our athletes to be the best they can be for 2020 and beyond.”

With the Canoe Sprint Situational Analysis Project set to start in January, no further changes will be made to the Canoe Sprint Progamme as part of the 2019 UK Sport Annual Review Process which means that other than in exceptional circumstances, no new athletes will be invited on to the programme to start in January 2020.

2020 Performance Squads

Canoe Sprint Canoe Slalom Paracanoe
Liam Heath MBE (Wey Kayak Club) Joseph Clarke MBE (Stafford & Stone Canoe Club) Charlotte Henshaw (Independent)
Rebeka Simon (Elmbridge) David Florence (Lloyds Register) Emma Wiggs MBE (Independent)
Jessica Walker (Royal Canoe Club Mallory Franklin (Windsor & District Canoe Club) Laura Sugar (Independent)
Katie Reid (Forth) Ryan Westley (Lower Wharf Canoe Club) Stuart Wood (Independent)
Chloe Bracewell (Lincoln Canoe Club) Bradley Forbes-Cryans (CR Cats) Jeanette Chippington MBE (Longridge Canoe Club)
Deborah Kerr (Scottish Performance Squad) Kimberley Woods (Rugby) Ian Marsden (Independent)
Emily Lewis (Worcester Canoe Club) Bethan Forrow (Lee Valley Paddlesports) Jack Eyers (Independent)
Thomas Lusty (Solihul Canoe Club) Adam Burgess (Stafford & Stone Canoe Club) Nicholas Beighton (Independent)
Lewis Fletcher (Scottish Performance Squad) Sophie Ogilvie (CR Cats) Robert Oliver (Solihul)
Charles Smith (Leighton Buzzard Canoe Club) Fiona Pennie (CR Cats) Hope Gordon (Forth Canoe Club)
Emma Russell (Chelmsford Canoe Club) Christopher Bowers (Stafford & Stone Canoe Club) David Phillipson (Independent)
Trevor Thomson (Ealing Canoe Club) Eilidh Gibson (Strathallan) Jonathan Young (CANI)
Afton Fitzhenry (CANI) Ellis Miller (Lee Valley Paddlesports) Martin Tweedie (Independent)
Ieuan James (Scottish Performance Squad) Megan Hamer-Evans (Seren Dwr) Stewart Clark (Chelmsford Canoe Club)
Noah Dembele (Leaside Canoe Club) Jonnny Dickson (Independent) Chelsey Dixon (Independent)
Daniel Atkins (Reading Canoe Club) Ben Haylett (Holme Pierrepont)
Zoe Clark (Royal Canoe Club) Alfie Boote (Stafford & Stone Canoe Club)
Enya Dale (Oxford Falcon CC) James Kettle (Lee Valley Paddlesports)
Philip Miles (Royal Leamington Spa Canoe Club) Etienne Chappell (Seren Dwr)
Nikita Setchell (Holme Pierrepont)

The appeals procedure can be found in appendix 3 of the World Class Programme Qualification Policy. Athletes who believe they have grounds to appeal according to this policy  must submit a written request to Andy Maddock (Head of Operations) within 48 hours of this WCP athlete places announcement (by 5pm Wednesday 27th November), which will initiate the appeals procedure. Please note that this athlete list remains subject to appeal at least up until Wednesday 18th December.

For more information about the procedure, see appendix 3 in the World Class Programme Qualification Policy.

If you have questions about this procedure or if you would like some guidance, please contact Zofia Campbell in the first instance ([email protected]) or Andy Maddock ([email protected]).