Show search form

Final team announced for Canoe Sprint World Championships

The team selected to represent Great Britain at the ICF Canoe Sprint World Championships has now been confirmed.

Reigning World Champion Liam Heath MBE will be leading the charge for the Brits following a successful World Cup campaign where he came back with two gold medals. 

With twelve months until the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games, the World Championships is the first of three opportunities to qualifying boat quota places at the Games.

K1 200m Liam Heath (Wey) reserve Jon Schofield / Jess Walker (Royal) reserve Emily Lewis

K1 500m Dan Johnson (Chelmsford) / Rebii Simon (Elmbridge)

K1 1000m Tom Lusty (Solihull) / Lizzie Broughton (Richmond)

K1 5000m Matthew Bowley (Burton Phoenix) / Lizzie Broughton (Richmond)

C1 5000m Anna Palmer (Reading)

C1 200m Katie Reid (Independent)

C1 500m Afton Fitzhenry (CANI)

K2 200m Stelian Naftanaila (Nottingham) Trevor Thomson (Ealing)

C2 500m Katie Reid (Independent) Chloe Bracewell (Independent)

K4 500m

Matthew Bowley (Burton Phoenix) Lewis Fletcher (Scottish Perf Squad) Ieuan James (Scottish Perf Squad) Matthew Robinson (Cardiff)  - reserve Trevor Thomson (Ealing)

Emily Lewis (Worcester) Deborah Kerr (Scottish Perf Squad) Hannah Brown (Wiltshire Youth) Angela Hannah (Banbury)

The International Panel wish all athletes selected to represent Great Britain in 2019 a successful World Championships and once again wish to recognise the support of the Sprint Racing Committee in their assistance in supporting athletes who are not receiving a subsidy from the UK Sport Lottery funding.

For the full Canoe Sprint International Panel Statement see here or below.