Show search form

Canoe Polo Team Selected for European Championships

The players who will represent Great Britain across four teams at the Canoe Polo European Championships, which take place in Coimbra, Portugal, have been selected.

Canoe Polo U21 Men Gbr V Rus 2

There will be four British teams competing - GB Men, GB Women, GB U21 Men and GB U21 Women and this is the first time that all four home nations will be represented in the squads.

Having dominated the sport for the past three years, the U21 men are going through a transition year having all but two of their World Championship winning team moving up out of the age group.  They are now working with Andy Lowthorpe who will be working with the next generation of polo players to continue legacy of British success.

Having finished with the silver medal at the World Championships in 2018, the GB Women’s team won the ECA Canoe Polo Cup in Mechelen in June so they will be looking to consolidate that form with a podium place in Portugal. They will now be coached by Kirsty Bishop who has recently returned to the UK after her tenure as the Swiss Women’s team coach.

Narrowly missing the podium at the last two major meets, the U21 Women won the bronze in Mechelen and will be looking to continue that fine form going into this championship.

Dave Edwards, who coached the U21 team to their last three international gold medals, has been appointed to the men’s team. He will be looking to bring his experience and success with him as the team rebuilds with five of his gold medal-winning U21 Men moving up with him.

Making history will be the McCutcheon family with four members being selected for the competition across the Men's and U21 Men's teams.

This European Championships will be the first major canoe polo championships to feature a commentated live stream of all four competition matches throughout the five day event.

The British teams competing at the ECA Canoe Polo European Championships are:

1 Kartik McCutcheon FOA Liverpool
2 Suryan McCutcheon (C) FOA Liverpool
3 Jack Playford FOA Liverpool
4 Alex Lowthorpe Kingston KC
5 Ross Martin Kingston KC
6 Ross Montgomery Viking CC
9 Shivan McCutcheon FOA Liverpool
10 James Mallon FOA Liverpool
Coach Dave Edwards Pennine CC

1 Nicole Hudson Meridian CC
2 Prudence Blyth  (C) FOA Liverpool
3 Louise Saxon Bridgend CC
4 Alison Brown Team Scotia
5 Bethan Littlewood Bridgend CC
6 Danielle Brain FOA Liverpool
7 Georgina Longbottom FOA Liverpool
9 Virginia Coyles FOA Liverpool
Coach Kirsty Bishop Meridian CC

1 Ed Lart Kingston KC 
2 Finn Cain St Albans CC 
3 Chris Underwood Viking CC 
4 Luke Meadows FOA Liverpool 
5 Henry Clark (C) Bridgend CC 
6 Liam Webb Cherwell CC 
7 Ben Muller Bridgend CC 
8 Santanam McCutcheon FOA Liverpool 
Coach Andy Lowthorpe Kingston  
Asst Lewis Hammond Kingston 

1 Kathryn Farley Penrith CC
2 Amira Raoudi FOA Liverpool
3 Lucy Boyce (C) Meridian CC
4 Sara Lanao-Madden Belfast Kayak Academy
5 Tia Morris Meridian CC
6 Jessica Webb Cherwell CC
7 Caitlin Fox Penrith CC
8 Katie Howes Bridgend CC
Coach Alan Vessey St Albans CC
Asst Ruth Orchard White Rose
Trainee Dan Robson Meridian CC