Show search form

British Canoeing Boater X Champions crowned

The winners of the inaugural British Canoeing Boater X series have been confirmed following the results of the third and final event which took place at Holme Pierrepont, Nottingham.

93 entrants competed in the inaugural series, held across three events at Cardiff, Lee Valley and Holme Pierrepont.

Solomon Entwistle, Emily Buchanan, Gareth Farrow and Sennah Nader-Humphries were crowned national Boater X champions, based on points awarded from the three events.

In the women’s event Emily Buchanan was the clear winner after collecting 230 points from two third places and one fourth place finish.

Emily, who also qualified for the GB team that will compete in the extreme canoe slalom at the World Cup at Lee Valley, was looking in dominant form in the Nottingham event after winning the time trial.

But in the final head to head race victory was secured by American slalom paddler Sage Donnelly, with Olympian Lizzie Neave taking second and Emily Buchanan third.

The men’s champion was Gareth Farrow, who claimed the victory in Cardiff and third place in Lee Valley – which also secured his World Cup place in the GB team. In Nottingham a semi-final spot and 50 points gave Gareth the title with 230 points.

In the Nottingham men’s event Zak Allin claimed victory, with the leading time in the time trial and first place finishes in the quarter and semi-finals, before taking victory in the final ahead of Gav Barker and Matt Stephenson.

In the junior women’s event Sennah Nader-Humphries produced a dominant performance across all three races.  Victory in Lee Valley and Nottingham, and a second place in Cardiff gave Sennah the national title with 290 points.

The junior men was a much closer affair with Etienne Chappell taking victory in Lee Valley and Ben Higson in Nottingham.  But with a win in Cardiff and fourth place in Nottingham the national title went to Solomon Entwistle.

Each series winner received a trophy and champions bib. Each senior event winner won £100 per event and the juniors a goody bag. There was also a prize draw, kindly donated by event sponsors Palm, Pyranha and Wave Sport. The winners of the prizes are:

Abigail Goddard                   Phoenix boat from Wave Sport

Erik Francis                         Atom Drysuit (Men's) from Palm

Brogan Swart                       Atom Drysuit (Women's) from Palm

Solomon Entwistle               Ripper boat from Pyranha

Full results from the Boater X series