Show search form

​ We are pleased to announce the Sprint Competition Working Group

Competition is at the heart of sprint racing, it attracts and retains paddlers, helps showcase the sport, raises the profile and provides an effective paddler pathway. Having a domestic sprint racing competition structure that provides the right quality and quantity of opportunities throughout the pathway is essential. The group has been set up to review the current competition structure and develop options for the future that meet the needs of paddlers, clubs and coaches.

Sprint 010 2 1

The group is made up of representatives from the Sprint Racing Committee, Regatta Committee and the British Canoeing Talent and Development teams, alongside some appointed members. 

We had a great response to the advertisement announcing the creation of the panel with an impressive range of applications from people with expertise and experience in many different areas from within the sport. A selection panel met and ultimately selected a group of individuals with a complementary set of skills, experiences and backgrounds.

Group members are:

Hannah Brown - Appointed

Imogen Collins - SRC representative

Anna Gray - British Canoeing Development Team

Kevin Hipkins - Co Chair (appointed)

John Hoile - Regatta Committee representative

Ivan Lawler - British Canoeing President

Alison Nightingale - Co Chair (appointed)

Rich Ramsdale - British Canoeing Talent Team

Mark Ressel - Appointed

There is already much work going on behind the scenes with the first meeting in early November. Consultation will be a key part of the review so watch this space for opportunities to feed in.

If you have any questions or anything you’d like to feed into the review then please contact [email protected]  in the first instance.