Show search form

Sprint paddlers pick up trophies at Sprint Racing ACM

A number of sprint paddlers picked up their National Championship trophies after triumphing at the September regatta at Holme Pierrepont in Nottingham.

Racing Acm Trophies

With thousands competing across the competitions, numerous National Titles were secured during the glorious September weather.

Winning five national titles to cap off what was an excellent season, Tom Lusty (Solihull) was presented the Urwin Bowl for his men’s K1 500m performance by British Canoeing President Ivan Lawler MBE, whilst canoe sprint Head Coach Rene Olsen handed over the Farnham Cup as the men’s K1 1000m accolade to the 23-year-old. 

Under 18 K1 athlete Philip Miles (Royal Leamington Spa) also picked up two trophies during the event. Miles, who dominated the boys under 18 events in September winning five gold medals, was presented the Rhodes Trophy by 2016 Olympic Champion Liam Heath for his performance in the boys under 18 K1 500m. That was shortly followed by the Barry Murray Trophy after a win in the boys under 18 K1 1000m, presented by Justine Willmott.

Enya Dale took home the Phillips Plate for her victory in the girls under 18 K1 200m after pipping Zoe Clark to the title back in September, with Liam Heath presenting the Falcon athlete her award.

Chelmsford Canoe Club’s Emma Russell was named 2018 Junior Racing Canoeist of the Year after being voted by fellow athletes. Emma had a fantastic season, winning silver at the junior & U23 European Championships and bronze at the junior & U23 World Championships. She also collected gold in the K1 Women Juniors at the European Marathon Championships.

Emma wasn't able to be at the Sprint Racing Annual Consultative to receive the award, but will be presented with the trophy at a later date.

Nicky Cresser from Nottingham Kayak Club picked up two awards. Firstly, a solo accolade for the best men B performance at the National Championships saw him collect the Dexter Trophy presented by Tim Lodge, whilst he was also on hand to pick up the James Cup from the May Regatta as part of the Masters K4 National Champions. Nicky was part of the team alongside; James Butler, Matthew Enoch and Nigel Jones, and was the only individual present to receive the award from British Canoeing Vice President David Green.

Nerijus Budrikis won the Sidney Rowe Cup for his victory in the senior men’s C1 1000m, with Rene Olsen presenting the Worcester Canoe Club paddler the trophy.

Alix Aitchison and Charlotte Carey jointly won the Skinner Salver award for the best canoe junior girls performance at the National Championships, whilst Thomas Lambert of Lee Valley won the Adjutants Cup for the best canoe junior boy performance.

Norwich Canoe Club won the MacGregor Paddle from the Inter-Club Challenge at the July Regatta, whilst Wiltshire Youth Canoe Club won the Marsport Trophy for being the top scoring club at the mini sprint series.

Norwich Canoe Club topped the National Inter Club Medal competition with a score of 113 points to win a K2 donated by the Performance Programme and presented by Rene Olsen. They were closely followed by 4A’S Newark and Nottingham Kayak Club in second and third respectively.

Amongst the trophy presentations, Ivan Lawler and Tim Lodge provided two interesting talks to the attendees.