Show search form

British Canoeing World Class Performance Squads announced for 2019

British Canoeing’s World Class Programme has undertaken a comprehensive annual review and is now pleased to announce the athletes that will be selected for the UK Sport lottery funded Canoe Sprint, Canoe Slalom and Paracanoe Programmes for 2019.

British Canoeing is privileged to receive lottery funding to support our elite athletes to be the best that they can be as we strive for excellence at Tokyo 2020 and then Paris 2024. The purpose of the World Class Performance Programme is to ultimately win Olympic and Paralympic medals. Athletes selected onto the programme for 2019 will receive financial assistance from UK Sport through the World Class Performance Programme’s Athlete Performance Award (APA) alongside support for training camps and international competitions. They will also have access to world class coaching, performance support, medical services and elite training environments at our High Performance Centre’s.

Commenting on the selection announcement, British Canoeing Performance Director Paul Ratcliffe said: “Every place on the programme has been hard earned and well done to all the athletes selected. 2018 saw our programme’s grow in strength and culminated with the Paracanoe and Canoe Slalom teams finishing top of the medal table at the 2018 World Championships. With exciting talent emerging across all three programme’s as we move into year three of the Tokyo cycle, we now want to build on the learnings from 2018 and focus in with the senior squads on qualifying our places for Tokyo. We look forward to supporting our athletes and coaches to continually improve performances in this crucial year ahead.

Paul Ratcliffe - Performance Director

Slalom Sprint Paracanoe
Joseph Clarke (Stafford & Stone) Liam Heath (Wey) Emma Wiggs (Independent)
David Florence (Forth) Jonathan Schofield (Soar Valley) Charlotte Henshaw (Independent)
Mallory Franklin (Windsor & District) Jessica Walker (Royal) Jeanette Chippington (Longridge)
Ryan Westley (Lower Wharfe) Thomas Lusty (Solihull) Jack Eyers (Independent)
Bethan Forrow (Lee Valley) Katie Reid (Forth) Ian Marsden (Trentham)
Kimberley Woods (Rugby) Emily Lewis (Worcester) Nick Beighton (Shropshire)
Eilidh Gibson (Strathallan) Deborah Kerr (Scottish Performance) Jonathan Young (CANI)
Fiona Pennie (CR Cats) Hannah Brown (Wiltshire Youth) Nikki Paterson (Independent)
Adam Burgess (Stafford & Stone) Chloe Bracewell (Independent) Martin Tweedie (Nottingham)
Chris Bowers (Stafford & Stone) Lewis Fletcher (Linlithgow) David Phillipson (Independent)
Bradley Forbes-Cryans (CR Cats) Matthew Robinson (Cardiff) Robert Oliver (Solihull)
Ellis Miller (Lee Valley) Rebeka Simon (Elmbridge) Chelsey Dixon (Independent)
Samuel Ibbotson (Holme Pierrepont) Rachel Cawthorn (Wey) Hope Gordon (Forth)
Thomas Abbott (Mold) Daniel Johnson (Chelmsford) Stuart Wood (Bath)
Phoebe Spicer (Lee Valley) Bethany Gill (Holme Pierrepont) Stewart Clark (Chelmsford)
Etienne Chappell (Seren Dwr) Angela Hannah (Banbury)
Ben Haylett (Holme Pierrepont) Emma Russell (Chelmsford)
Megan Hamer Evans (Seren Dwr) Afton Fitzhenry (CANI)
Peter Linksted (Stirling & Falkirk) Ieuan James (Scottish Performance)
Nikita Setchell (Holme Pierrepont) Charlie Smith (Leighton Buzzard)
Zyggy Chmiel (Nottingham)
Trevor Thomson (Ealing)
Stelian Naftanaila (Nottingham)
Noah Dembele (Leaside)
Enya Dale (Falcon)
Zoe Clark (Royal)
Philip Miles (Royal Leamington Spa)
Andras Kereszturi (Ealing)

This announcement triggers a British Canoeing appeals process timeline which can found within the published policy below.