Show search form

Paracanoe Squad Named For World Championships

British Canoeing has named the 11-strong squad who will represent Great Britain at the Paracanoe World Championships next month.

Paracanoe World Champs Selection Page001

The most competitive regatta since the British paracanoe programme was created, saw five course records fall as the athletes powered their way securing their berth in Montenor O Velho, Portugal in August. 

Two-time KL2 European silver medallist Charlotte Henshaw and grand slam holder Emma Wiggs showed their intent as they both took course records en route to selection. With both paddlers taking a race each on Saturday in the KL2, it was Charlotte who lowered the standard to 49.34 at the Nottingham course in their second outing.

The pair also took a record each in the VL2W and VL3W, with European champion Emma crossing the line in 59.69 and Charlotte 62.48 respectively.

Dave Phillipson will make his World Championships debut after dominating the men’s VL3. He claimed a new course record of 50.69, winning two from two ahead of Jack Eyers who came from behind in race two to clinch a successive second place and his seat on the plane to Portugal.

Phillipson will also take up a spot in the kayak after finishing in the Men’s KL2 behind Paralympic bronze medallist Nick Beighton. Beighton was in unbeatable form in the Men’s KL2 as he took two wins from two, taking the course record down to 44.31 in the process.

KL1 grand slam holder Jeanette Chippington will be looking to defend her title after a clean sweep in both races. After a strong start to the 2018 season, taking World Cup and European Championship silver, she will join compatriot Wiggs in the VL2.

Paralympic bronze medallist Ian Marsden put in fine performances in the KL1 to beat the clock and secure his qualification to his sixth World Championships.

Paralympian Rob Oliver, of Solihull, was first past the post with strong performances in the KL3, ahead of Jonny Young (CNI) with both paddlers improving their times from race one to two. The pair had solid races at the World Cups earlier this year where they finished fourth and fifth respectively.

An exciting prospect for the team is the selection into the women’s KL3 for the first time since Anne Dickens retired post Rio 2016. Newcomers Chelsey Dixon and Kiera Nash both made the cut.

Speaking on the squad announcement, Paracanoe Head Coach, Scott Simon, said: 

“This is a really strong team, with a real mix of senior and established Paralympians with some young fresh talent coming through and it’s fantastic to see that we are creating strength and depth within the programme.

“There was some phenomenal racing this weekend. We’re really pleased with how the guys have worked and the effort and professionalism which has led to those performances, not just those who have made the team but from everyone involved in this process which led to some really competitive racing.

“It will be great to see them go now and deliver their processes in Portugal and put a marker down ahead of the second half of the cycle.”

The team representing Great Britain will be:

KL1   Ian Marsden (Independent)                             KL1 Jeanette Chippington (Longridge)

KL2   Nick Beighton (Help for Heroes)                      KL2 Charlotte Henshaw

         Dave Phillipson                                                      Emma Wiggs                            

KL3   Rob Oliver (Solihull)                                         KL3  Chelsey Dixon

         Jonny Young (CNI)                                                   Keira Nash 

VL3   Dave Phillipson                                               VL2  Emma Wiggs

         Jack Eyers                                                             Jeanette Chippington

                                                                                 VL3  Charlotte Henshaw

The Paracanoe International Panel statement can be found here