Show search form

Bowers, Forrow, Burgess and Woods provisionally book remaining senior final selections spots

British Canoeing’s Slalom Senior Selections are notorious for being a highly pressurised weekend with a final day of competition that can always be relied upon to reach the end of the scale.

Bowers 002

Chris Bowers on the way to provisionally winning his K1M team place

With just one final senior team place still up for grabs in each of the four categories at the start of today the pressure was raised a notch to produce more surprises and relevations.

In the men’s K1 Chris Bowers (Stafford & Stone) provisionally takes the final spot, joining Olympic Champion Joe Clarke (Stafford & Stone) and Bradley Forbes-Cryans (CR Cats) for the second year in a row (though as with all results this is subject to ratification by the International Panel).

With one of the main contenders Zachary Franklin (Windsor & District) eliminated in the morning’s semi final Bowers had looked to be going in a similar direction after completing his final with a 50 second penalty on gate 12.

Had it stuck, the decision would have given second place (behind race winner Forbes-Cryans), and the team place almost certainly to Huw Swetnam (Eye Tee). But having reviewed the video footage the judges removed the penalty.

“It was down to that last run and it was good to see Huw put a good run down which made me try and put something together,” said Bowers

“At the end I was quite shocked to see I had 50.  But that’s racing. The judges thought one way then after reviewing thought another way which is nice, so it's relief and happiness now to look forward to the season now.

I’m really excited for the year ahead. I’m coming in with a more solid plan this time, feeling fitter than I’ve ever been so I know it’s all there

– Chris Bowers

“It’s now about putting it altogether for those runs through the international season and there are so many opportunities in all those races.”

In the women’s C1 competition the Beth Forrow (Lee Valley) success story continued for a further day with the 16-year-old provisionally taking third spot in the senior team. 

Forrow, who entered selections with the aim of retaining her under 18 team place, finished second in today’s women’s C1 final behind Kimberley Woods (Rugby), who yesterday had provisionally qualified. 

Forrow will join Woods and pre selected World Champion Mallory Franklin (Windsor & District) at the expense of Eilidh Gibson (Strathallan)

who finished one place behind her in today’s final.

Forrow 004

Beth Forrow

“It was an amazing feeling just being on the start line and when I crossed the line and heard I was first it meant the lowest place I could come was third,” said Forrow.

“At the start of selections I wouldn’t have imagined I could have a place on the senior team and to be able to have this summer’s racing is going to be amazing.

There was pressure on me today but not from anyone but myself, purely because I wanted to do my best and see what my best could achieve

– Beth Forrow

“I was lucky enough to put down my best and it was enough.  I’m absolutely elated.”

The men’s senior team for 2018 is provisionally a replica of last season’s after Adam Burgess (Stafford & Stone) won the remaining third place in the K1.

Burgess 001

Adam Burgess competed in the K1M final

“It’s been a pretty emotional weekend,” said Burgess after beating his close rival Tom Quinn (Lower Wharfe) in the final by around a second and a half.  

Both athletes delivered clean runs, as did David Florence who capped another successful weekend by finishing first.  This will be his eighteenth season on the senor team.

“Tom put a good run down in the final, so it was important I delivered and I did,” continued Burgess.

After getting off to a bad start this weekend I had so much confidence in my mental strength and ability to be able to fight back

– Adam Burgess

Mallory Franklin (Windsor & District) and Fiona Pennie (CR Cats) wrapped the day up by finishing the women’s K1 final in first and second place respectively for the third time this weekend, although both had already provisionally made it back onto the senior team after yesterday’s race.

That just left one place left in the K1 team, won by Kimberley Woods (Rugby) who finished ahead of fellow under 23 athlete Sophie Ogilvie (CR Cats) in the final.

Woods 018

Kimberley Woods in action in today's K1W final

I’m relieved more than anything else,” said Woods who has also provisionally qualified for the women’s C1.  

“That was my twelfth run of the week so I’m pretty happy to put down one of the best runs I’ve done in kayak this weekend.

I did have a touch but I had really good power, great strength and I was pretty solid on final run to regain my place on the team

– Kimberley Woods

“I knew I had two thirds and there was only one other person (Megan Hamer-Evans, Seren Dwr) who could have changed that but unfortunately she didn’t make the final which was sad news on her part. 

“So I felt really relaxed going into that final run, the same as I did going into my last run on C1.”

2018 British Canoeing Slalom Selections
Final  placings from Sunday 2 April


Senior & under 23

1    Joe Clarke (Stafford & Stone) S
2    Bradley Forbes-Cryans (CR Cats) U23
3    Christopher Bowers (Stafford & Stone) U23
4    Huw Swetnam (EyeTee) S
3    Zachary Franklin (Windsor & District) S
6    Ciaran Lee Edwards (Llandysul Paddlers) S
7    Etienne Chappell (Seren Dwr) J
8    Jonathan Atkinson (Proteus) U23

Junior under 18

1    Etienne Chappell (Seren Dwr) J18
2    Ben Haylett (Holme Pierrepont) J18
3    Jake Brown (Tees Tigers) J18
4    Jonny Dickson (CR Cats) J18
5    Matthew Curry (Lee Valley) J18
6    David Paterson (Manchester) J18


Senior & under 23

1    Mallory Franklin (Windsor & District) S
2    Fiona Pennie (CR Cats) S
3    Kimberley Woods (Rugby) U23
4    Megan Hamer-Evans (Seren Dwr) U23
5    Sophie Ogilvie (CR Cats) U23
6    Amber Maslen (Pinkston Panthers) S
7    Bethan Forrow (Lee Valley) J

Junior under 18

1    Lois Leaver (Edinburgh Schools) J16
2    Bethan Forrow (Lee Valley) J18
3    Phoebe Spicer (Lee Valley) J18
4    Nikita Setchell (Holme Pierrepont) J18
5    Lili Bryant (Llandysul Paddlers) J16
6    Ellis Miller (Lee Valley) J16


Senior & under 23

1    David Florence (Lloyds Register) S
2    Ryan Westley (Lower Wharfe) S
4    Adam Burgess (Stafford & Stone) S
5    Thomas Quinn (Lower Wharfe) S
6    Tom Abbott (Mold) U23
7    Will Smith (Winchester & District) U23
8    Sam Ibbotson (Holme Pierrepont) U23

Junior under 18

1    Peter Linksted (Stirling & Falkirk) J18
2    Sam Maingay (Stafford & Stone) J18
3    Ben Haylett (Holme Pierrepont) J16
4    James Kettle (Lee Valley) J18
5    Zach Pearson (Holme Pierrepont) J18
6    Robert Fernie (Holme Pierrepont) J16


Senior & under 23

1    Mallory Franklin (Windsor & District) S
2    Kimberley Woods (Rugby) S
3    Bethan Forrow (Lee Valley) J
4    Sophie Ogilivie (Breadalbane) U23
5    Eilidh Gibson (Strathallan) U23
6    Ellis Miller (Lee Valley) J     
7    Phoebe Spicer (Lee Valley) J

Junior under 18

1    Bethan Forrow (Lee Valley) J18
2    Ellis Miller (Lee Valley) J16
3    Daisy Cooil (Tees Tigers) J18
4    Phoebe Spicer (Lee Valley) J18
5    Hannah Owen (Independent) J18
6     Katie McDermott (Lee Valley) J16

For all results click here

Pics by EAphotos