Show search form

British Canoeing Olympic & Paralympic Programmes – Athlete Announcement

Following a strong year one of the Tokyo cycle for our athletes, the British Canoeing World Class Programme has undertaken a comprehensive annual review and is now pleased to announce that the following athletes will be selected for the UK Sport lottery funded Canoe Sprint, Canoe Slalom and Paracanoe programmes for 2018.

British Canoeing is privileged to receive lottery funding to support our elite athletes as they aspire to be the best that they can be as we move towards Tokyo 2020 and then Paris 2024. In 2017 there were more athletes making matrix performances than places available on the programmes and against performance criteria, tough decisions have had to be made and agreed with UK Sport and the Board of British Canoeing.

Our athletes are already well into preparations for year two of our Tokyo campaign and clarification of funding and elite support enables everyone to establish a firm foundation upon which we can build momentum as we focus on preparations for the 2018 season.

Paul Ratcliffe - Performance Director

Slalom Sprint Paracanoe
Joseph Clarke Liam Heath Emma Wiggs
David Florence Jonathan Schofield Jeanette Chippington
Mallory Franklin Rebeka Simon Jonny Young
Fiona Pennie Jessica Walker Martin Tweedie
Kimberley Woods Rachel Cawthorn Ian Marsden
Eilidh Gibson Emily Lewis Nikki Patterson
Ryan Westley Deborah Kerr Nick Beighton
Christopher Bowers Amy Turner Robert Oliver
Adam Burgess Katie Reid Charlotte Henshaw
Bradley Forbes-Cryans Afton Fitzhenry Chelsey Dixon
Thomas Abbott Bethany Gill David Phillipson
Samuel Ibbotson Jonathan Boyton Lindsay Thorpe
Peter Linksted Chloe Bracewell Stuart Wood (Programme Only)
Megan Hamer-Evans Nia Tomos
Bethan Forrow Angela Hannah
Etienne Chappell Hannah Brown
William Smith Ieuan James
Sophie Ogilvie Magnus Gregory
Angus Gibson Trevor Thomson
Noah Dembele
Thomas Lusty
Stelian Naftanaila
Samantha Rees-Clark
Mathew Bowley
Daniel Johnson
Matthew Robinson
Lewis Fletcher
Charlie Smith