Show search form


We have over 100 staff members based at the National Water Sports Centre in Nottingham and Lee Valley White Water Centre in Hertfordshire.

CEO Office

Email: [email protected]

Tel: 0300 0119 500

Ashley Metcalfe - CEO

Charmaine Gawler - Executive Assistant CEO

Membership Team

Email: [email protected]

Tel: 0300 0119 500

Members Hub

Sam Rankin - Head of Membership and Customer Service

Mark Bazeley - Membership Advisor

Coaching and Qualifications Team

Paddles Up Training Delivery Centre

Email: [email protected]

Tel: 0300 0119 500

British Canoeing Awarding Body

Email: [email protected]

Tel: 0115 8968839

Lee Pooley - Director of Coaching and Qualifications

Darryll Shaw - Head of Coaching & Partnerships

Tasha Devonshire - Coaching Development and Engagement Lead

Karen Bagshaw - Qualifications Administrator

Sid Sinfield - Performance Coach Developer

Aimee Sallis - Coaching Administrative Lead

Amanda Harris - Coaching Advisor

Walter Nowlan - Digital Learning Designer

Debbie Thompson - Digital Learning Designer

Samantha Ward - Safety Lead

James Russell - Coaching Advisor

Communications Team

Email: [email protected]

Tel: 0300 0119 500

Robert Knott - Director of Business Development and Communications

Ruth Norfolk - PR & Communications Manager

Gareth May - Business Development Manager

Sandy Drummond - Marketing Manager

Jack Carnell - Senior PR and Communications Officer

Neil Heath - Clear Access, Clear Waters Communications Lead

Beth Hall - Content Officer

James Ibbotson - Content and Campaigns Officer

Charlotte Pattinson - Digital Marketing and Communications Officer

Development Team

Tel: 0300 0119 500

Chris Earle - Director of Recreational Paddling

James Hinves - Club Support Manager

Lois Peake - Club Engagement Advisor

David Rogers - Project Support Officer 

Phil Scowcroft - Club Support Officers

Russell Smith - Club Support Officers

Greg van Heerden - Recreational Programmes Lead

Places to Paddle

Ben Seal - Head of Access & Environment

Richard Atkinson - Access & Environment Lead

Jake Crone - Environmental Project Officer

Pippa Rowlandson - Environmental Project Officer

Chantelle Grundy - Access & Environment Lead

Digital and IT Team

Email: [email protected]

Tel: 0300 0119 500

Barry Wade - Director of Digital Transformation and IT

Colin Dinshaw - IT Support Service Manager

Ben Sansom - Lead Developer

Mark Bray - Developer

Bernadett Chromicsek - IT Support and Admin Assistant 

Events and Disciplines Team

Email: [email protected]

Tel: 0300 0119 500

Gemma Wiggs - Head of Events and International Affairs

Macauley Allen - Events and Competition Officer

Anna Gray - Sports Development Manager

Richard Stacey-Chapman - Events Officer

Finance Team

Email: [email protected]

Tel: 0300 0119 500

Susan Hicks - Finance Director

Gareth Ikin - Finance Manager

Wendy Hockenhull - Finance Officer

Sarah Smith - Finance Officer

Belindah Otieno - Finance Assistant

Governance Team

Email: [email protected]

Tel: 0115 8655354

Nancy Squires - Director of Governance / Designated Safeguarding Lead

Adam Leathwood - Safeguarding Manager / Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead

Aneela Mushtaq - Safeguarding Case Officer

Helena Russo - Equality, Diversity & Inclusion Lead

James Unsworth - Legal and Governance Officer

Phillippa Dudley - Governance Support Administrator

HR Team

Email: [email protected]

Tel: 0300 0119 500

Lisa Bryant - Director of HR

Charlotte Tipple - HR Advisor

Suzi Rose - Learning and Development Advisor

Performance and Talent Teams

National Water Sports Centre Tel: 0115 982 2094 

Lee Valley White Water Centre Tel:  01992 663130 

Keir Worth - Director of Paddlesport

Andy Maddock - Head of Performance: Operations

Chris Furber - Performance Director (Canoe Sprint & Paracanoe)

Mark Ratcliffe - Performance Director (Canoe Slalom)

Rich Ramsdale - Head of Talent

A full list of coaches and support staff can be found here.